Pip's Intro to Ed & Al(RIP) [Success!]

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scythe

So Pip has started getting pretty outgoing, starting to get a teeny bit better(though slowly) and since I had the day off today, I figured it was a good day to throw everybody together in the tub and see how it goes.

The past couple of days I've been swapping things between both cages -- and everything swapped went ignored. Ed even immediately went up to Pips hammock and curled up in it. And Pip curled up underneath the fleece scrap from the others cage and slept. So I figured it couldn't go too bad, and was at least worth a shot.

I'm no expert at intros, but I think for a first try, it went pretty well.

It lasted about 45 minutes. I had two 'helpers'(who basically watched and only carried the rats to the bathroom for me lol). The first twenty minutes was very relaxed. Everyone walked around, ate the pablum, Al curled up on the towels to snooze and I'm thinking, "Oh this will be a breeze!"

...Then Ed had to be a little PITA.

Pip was very interested in checking everyone out. I was expecting very aggressive behaviour from him, because from what I was told, he's NEVER been with another rat before since he was bought from the pet store when he was 6 weeks old. And he's about a year old right now. So he just kept sniffing everyone, curious, etc. Ed groomed his back at one point and I thought all was well... but then out of nowhere when Pip was sniffing him, Ed just snapped and we had our first squabble that Pip came out the victor of.

Ed and Pip had a lot of squabbles, mostly all that calmed down when I placed my hand over them just hovering.