Worried About Tilley's Eye

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dazzle87

Tilley was recently diagnosed with cataracts by my vet. She did an eye pressure test, it was normal, looked at it and it was just a white dot on her pupil, etc. Well, now, the eye with the cataract has a bit of porphyrin on it and the eyelid looks a little puffy. She also has been squinting a bit. This is my first time dealing with cataracts but I'm pretty sure something else is going on too. I looked closely and don't see any scratches or anything on her eye.

Pics:

oct19021.jpg

I didn't want to show this next one, because it makes her look crazy, haha! She has maloccluded teeth and was trying to brux at me, even just trimmed her jaw alignment is off :(. Sometimes I wish I had had her teeth removed when this started like a year ago..

oct19022.jpg

Oh, and she's being seen Friday about this and to get her teeth trimmed.

Omygoodness... That last pic is adorable, love that look.
It looks like she's got a leaky eye. I'm sure it's not due to the cataract. Can you put polysporin eye drops in her eye, twice a day for about a week. It might help clear up whatever shes going through. Could be something as simple as a plugged duct.

Haha, yeah, it cracked me up when I uploaded the pics onto my computer and saw that!

Thank you, I really hope that's all it is. I think I actually already have polysporin, I'll go check and see if it is still good.

She doesn't seem to rub at it, but she either keeps that eye mostly closed, or blinks it way too frequently :(. She is very clumsy so an injury wouldn't surprise me.

Dazzle87 said:
Nope, no smell. This is weird, right? lol

That is good, no underlying infection, most likely a scratch then, it will take time to heal probably. I had better luck with eye ointment over drops, but either should help keep any infection at bay in the meantime.