What do you do?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kimber

Well, what do you do apart from loving your animals? Thought it would be interesting to see what type of careers/jobs people have here? Feel free to be a specific or vague as you wish :)

I work for VW supplying customer support to Canada. I'm the supervisor for the English division....usually about 40-60hrs per week depending on how many people are crying :p

Previously I have worked as a vet tech, horse trainer/riding instructor/racetrack groom and customer service positions. Would love to work with animals again, but my need for a health plan drives me into a desk job...le sigh.

Hehe, I've worked in libraries all my life! In middle and high school, I volunteered at the local public library. During my senior year in college, I worked at a special archives collection on campus. And when I graduated, they hired me on as a full-time employee!

My actual library duties these days are kinda all over the place since we're so short staffed. Officially I'm the Photoduplication Coordinator and Web Developer, but I also do reference both online and in person, coordinate and teach seminar classes, and many other things.

I'm currently dithering on getting a Library Science masters degree - if I want to move up the ladder, it absolutely necessary ... but its so darn expensive!

Currently, I'm a stay at home Mom :) I am hoping to go back to school, but need to move back home first so my mother can babysit. Childcare here would take a full paycheck lol I actually make more looking after my own kids. Joe works for a high end glass manufacturer, the current order they are doing is going to New York. I'm very proud of him.