*Update on Ennis-Please Read-New Mystery*

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RatsRGods

Hi everyone, some of you may remember Ennis with his scratch and bite wounds from a few months ago. Well, those are all healed , but now we have a new problem :(
I noticed a small lump underneath his belly, by his testicles last Saturday.
I didnt expect it to, but it has grown rapidly over the past week. Tonight, I noticed it is black like a bruise and it kind of stinks (I'm pretty sure it's the tumor I am smelling and not Ennis - he doesnt ever stink)

Here is a picture I took tonight:
DSC02726.jpg

Can someone advise me what exactly it is and do I need to take him to the vet immediately?
If so, Ennis is 2 years old, in pretty good heath, should I have them remove it?[line:a1g187vb][/line:a1g187vb]

I have no experience with that kind of tumour, but someone on this Forum posted about exactly the same thing very recently. You certainly would need to take Ennis to the vet as soon as you can get an appointment.

You have an abscess. These suddenly pop up after a bite. The body has walled off the infection from the healthy body...creating the abscess.

A lot of these can be dealt with at home, if you feel up to it, just be warned they smell foul. :sick2:

Going to look for one of my many posts on the subject with icky pics :lol:

Here's tucker's neuter abcess before it burst...see the black mark? Its where the skin thins and a scab forms and the abscess ruptures.

Tuckersscabonhisneuterabscess.jpg

You should do a warm water compress or a sitz bath in the sink to get it to come to a ""head"
And afterwards (pus must be flushed out ..I use saline myself). never use ointments for healing as an abscess needs to heal from the inside out or it traps a bit of infection in there and recurs :(