New owner been lurking and wanted to say hello

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jems71

Hello, I am new to owning rats. just got 2 baby girls they are about 6weeks now and very tiny little darlings.
I have been lurking a bit reading some posts and wish I had found this site like 2-3weeks ago!
My Babies were purchased not adopted or rescued...Please I do not need a lecture I already know pets stores= bad...and rescuing/adopting much better...
I have volunteered at the local shelter here on and off for years...the past 5-6yrs have been mostly off due to health and work...makes me sad that I have not been helping the ones in need much...but my kids are getting older and my health mre stable so maybe we as a family will be able to start doing more with the shelter again.
So I have 2 babies I was told were Dbl rex...they have very little fur and short curled wiskers.
Their names started off as Sherman and Hugo...my daughter so wanted boys...but I was pretty sure these were girls...and had some advice from goosemoose and looks like they are girls...who now when I look carefully I can see their nipples...still not very visable...maybe due to lack of fur...I dunno...
We are looking into getting a single level critter nation cage...when I put the dimensions in to he cage calculator it tells me it can house 9 rats...is it really that big? Not that I want or will have 9 rats but looking at ones that are in need of homes on this forum who knows what will happen in a few months...haha!
Our family consists of:
Mom-Dad-3 Girls ages 9 to 18
3 dogs 2 were rescued from vets/shelter
2 cats both from shelter
1 bearded dragon from breeder
1 RES turtle rescued from terrible living conditions
3 gold fish that the turtle decided not to eat and now are his tank mates