New baby rats, are two sick?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

Rune

Hi everyone, I have never used a thread before, I hope I do it right.

My partner and I got some baby rays yesterday. The two youngest sometimes make like a wet hiccup/snuffle noise. I have videos but it wont let me upload. The breeder said it's probably stress, feed them eggs and wait a couple of days. It's been years since I kept rats I am not sure.

Thank you.

If you upload the video to YouTube, then copy and paste the link on here, we can see it. He probably has the new home sneezes. You don't have to feed him eggs. Just try to keep stress to a minimum, and wait a couple of days. Keeping them on fleece instead of bedding (especially wood) can help as well. Welcome to the forum!

Hello, thank you.

The two youngest atr making similar noises and the oldest has been sneezing a bit. I put two videos on Youtube.

This is the hiccupy noise they are making.

This is one of the other noises they are making.

(A little sneezing for a few days is normal as rats get used to their new environment
Many say hiccups are normal, however, in my experience when my rats are hiccupping and I treat for a myco flareup, the hiccups stop)

A wet noise is not normal and may indicate illness
How is their breathing?
When you hold they up to your ear and listen to both sides of their chests do you hear any congestion etc?

Since rats become ill and die fast,
I strongly suggest taking them in to a good vet with the knowledge and experience to treat rats asap - like today!! - especially if a good rat vet is not available on weekends etc

I hope they are soon feeling much better

I will message Lilspaz68 as she knows much more then the rest of us

btw you may find the Reference Thread to be helpful https://www.ratshackforum.com/threads/reference-thread-read-only.35894/

Last edited: