Introductions (With a special needs rat)

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

Ratturtles

This is my first time introducing rats and so far I think everything is going well but I'm not sure. I originally had two girls and I recently added another to the family. The new rat, Subie, has some neurological issues, she walks off balance and has a head tilt.
I kept Subie away from my residents for about two weeks because she was on medicine for a suspected respiratory infection. She was not used to being alone and she's in my small temporary cage so this definitely took a toll on her.
I started introductions about 4 days ago. No one has shown any signs of aggression. My resident girls keep trying to sniff her butt and Subie does not like it, she squeals like shes in pain when they try, but from what I can tell they're not actually hurting her. My residents are super interested in her and keep trying to play but she seems to have no interest in befriending them.
Sometimes Subie will just sit in the same spot with her eyes half closed for a few minutes, unmoving. She seems to only do this when I have her out with my resident girls. I cannot tell if its because shes having a horrible time or if it has something to do with her neurological issues but it can be rather frightening. After a minute or two she seems to snap out of it and runs around like nothing happened.

Does this sound normal? Am I doing something wrong? I was worried my resident girls were not going to accept her but the exact opposite seems to be happening, she doesn't seem to like them. Any advice?

(I also want to mention that the new girl has already been seen by my veterinarian. She was treated for an ear infection and for the respiratory issues. From what her old owner told me she was born with the neurological issues as the result of bad breeding.)