What To Put at Bottom of Cage?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yogarat

New member here. Already introduced myself :)

Interested to know what you normally put at the bottom of your rat's cage. Is felt material ok? To lie it flat and then clean up any droppings/wash it once or twice a week? Or do most of you put shaving type material like shredded paper or recycled egg carton material?

I use fleece or newspaper. I personally wouldn't use felt. The little fibres would get caught on toenails and teeth probably. When I use fleece, I give them a lot of shredded newspaper other wise they destroy the fleece. They also get a box of aspen shavings to use as a dig box. I wash my fleece once a week, because they are all litter trained.

Ok so fleece instead of felt. For litter training, what do you use in the litter box? I apologize if the question is odd, I'm new to ratties and still do not have any but looking to possibly adopt and am trying to learn more.

yogarat said:
Ok so fleece instead of felt. For litter training, what do you use in the litter box? I apologize if the question is odd, I'm new to ratties and still do not have any but looking to possibly adopt and am trying to learn more.

I don't use anything. I just have empty litter pans and I empty them daily. In the past I used Yesterday's News. It's a recycled newspaper cat litter. But I found it too hard to pick out the poops and ended up wasting a lot of litter. Mine do just fine without litter and it's a lot quicker to clean up :)

We use fleeces on some, kaytee clean and kozy and/or carefresh white on others. For the liter boxes we use exquisicat paper - whatever you choose to use has to be paper in case they eat it.

I've found someone selling a nice cage roomy enough for two rats on kijiji for $15. The bottom is plastic. Is this an issue at all for rats?