Very sick rat, not sure what more to do?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

Kim Kenney

Hi everyone, I am new to owning rats (my kids rats) we have 2 females about 1.5 yrs old or so. Over the past month one started to develop a mammary tumor. I made appointment to take her in to have it removed. Suddenly she was doing a severe head tilt and in about 24hrs totally unable to walk and get herself to food and water. I called and brought her in to exotic vet as an emergency. She was dehydrated and vet said possibly an inner ear infection or PT. Sent me home with an oral antibiotic, pain med, and med to shrink tumor. Said prognosis is not good.

That was last Friday. We’ve had moments (very few) where she was up trying to eat and moving. She has steadily declined in last 48 hrs. She can’t walk at all. She tries very hard but just rolls over and over. She now has no interest in being fed or given water (before she would lay and eat via syringe willingly) and this morning it seems like she’s taking the food and just holding in her mouth without swallowing. She is spitting out the water and turns away. I am getting the meds down. I spoke to vet yesterday and I have appointment for Friday . Just wondering if I need to put her to sleep? She looks so frustrated and miserable. She can’t pick her head up (it is extremely tilted and touching ground) move much, eat, etc. she has the red liquid coming from one eye and the other is looking a little bulged. I had hoped if it was an infection the meds would be helping her improve some by now.
Hoping for advice from experienced rat owners. Thank you.