Turner's eye and nose? Any ideas?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

henry's_mum

hey guys, just looking for opinions on what this could be.
It happens about once/twice weekly. I've tried a humidifier, i've tried baytril for a 2 week period with no improvement.
He's being housed with his buddy Hootch, who doesn't have this problem AT ALL, and also in the same room as Brill and Toby, who also have no issues.

I have no history for these 2 guys, they were surrendered to a humane society, and I picked them up from there...

To me it looks more like blood than Porph. and when his episodes come on of what ever this is it last a day or so...

pics...

I'm no expert but this looks like spattered porph from sneezing. One of my first girls, Rataquille, exhibited similarly. Maybe an URI and you'll need to dose with baytril and doxy? Rataquille went on to eventually require sub-q dex and gentamicin injections. Your vet should be able to advise. Let us know how it goes...

dl
:heart:

I wouldn't think blood as it's both his nose and eye so I'd think porphyrin?
Now I don't know if there's anything to this but I posted a question a while ago of how to tell blood from porphyrin viewtopic.php?f=21&t=8698&p=118643#p118643 and joolsratbag said:
"The method I use to tell them apart when unsure is to try to dab a bit up onto a piece of white tissue. Porphyrin is really quite watery, and will stay exactly the same colour after it has dried on the tissue. Blood will seem much thicker, and will oxidise as it dries - to a proper brown colour."

I've had kids that had porphyrin when their cagemates didn't and yet the kid was as healthy as the others. I had one girl that had it literally from birth and lived 20 1/2 mo's with it (one of my 1st kids might have lived longer even if I'd known more then?).