Rats stay on the shelf

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blessedmom

I'm still kind of new to rats but we have two sweet girls, Vanilla (white one) and Dior (way up in left corner). I've attached a pic of their cage. Here's the deal- they absolutely love to stay on the top level and rarely use the bottom at all. Even when I had nothing on the top shelf, they would cuddle up and sleep there. So I finally put the wooden thing so they have something to cuddle under. My issue is that they pee on the shelves of course and it needs cleaned so often. The bedding at the bottom rarely gets used. I've tried different bedding to be sure it wasn't bothering them. I try to keep a soft bed under the wood thing but they constantly knock it down. They sometimes knock down the wooden thing too (I'm afraid could injure them). Should I keep the shelf clear or find some kind of other thing they can huddle under? Should I keep a towel down that I can change daily so the pee doesn't get yucky? Any ideas?
0913f52a29eb1d43fdafb1b3b239cf01.jpg

Rats like to be up high. What you really need is hammocks. You have alot of available space to hang hammocks, baskets, all sorts of things. Make sure your freezing all the bedding and wood stuff for 48-72 hours so you don't get mites/lice. You can always binder clip on a couple layers of fleece to soak up the urine instead of just having them on the plastic shelves. Do you have a liter pan in there? You can get some decorating ideas from here. From what I can see you have a couple of cuties.
http://www.ratshackforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33695

Last edited:
yes .... attach a litter box to the shelves, use hammocks, wooden logs and house on the bottom, a 12 inch diameter solid wheel as your wheel is much too small, tubes attached to the side of the cage, perhaps a space pod, and perhaps a much larger cage