Rat struggling to breathe... Please help...

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
S

Seamus

Hi... My rat, Vince (+/- 2 years old) has had minor breathing problems since this summer started and I just thought it was pollen or the humidity... But it got slightly worse. Its mid summer for us south africans now and I've got him in my arms and he is struggling to keep breathing... Please could someone help...

(Extra mention: Vince has had a bath today and his cage was cleaned, could any of this be the problem)?

Video of vince breathing a minute before this post:

He need to get to a vet now.. He may be having a heart problem judging by his age but I'm no professional... I'm afraid he won't last long if he doesn't get the proper treatment... I'm sorry this is happening.. I hope he makes it..

Vince needs to see a vet immediately!!
Vince needs to be put on antibiotics such as baytril + azithromycin (10 mg/Ib), may need a dex injection, may need Lasix, may need a bronchodilator, may need to be put on oxygen

A very tiny piece of dark chocolate (not milk chocolate) may help to keep his airway open until you can get to a vet

It may also be too late and Vince may need to be humanely put to sleep by a good vet to prevent further suffering - you will need to be his advocate because most vets do not know how to do it properly
Therefore you will need to ask questions and make sure it is done properly …. and stay with Vince if at all possible ……….