Rat Neuter/Surgery methods

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

virgo2882

I was told from my vet that she would charge $40 for a office visit to see My boy first to make sure he is healthy, and then she would charge $150 to neuter the rat, so total of $190.
I am new to the whole idea of neutering and spaying your rats, so I was seeing if this is a decent price.
How much are you usually charged for neuters? and spays?
Also do you recommend glue or staples?
My vet has never done a neuter or spay but has done rat surgeries for tumors, she is def into reading and researching into what has to be done, and is soo sweet.
I heard that they should be gassed before the surgery and not by injection, and also they should have a heating pad? Any other things I should bring up to her?
Thanks!

Mine were gassed though I don't know the physiological reason for this. A heating pad would be for post-op stuff so I'm assuming your vet would know that already. It's just a matter of learning the anatomy I believe. I'll admit I'd be nervous about someone who's never done it but it doesn't mean she can't perform a successful surgery.

Everyone has to start somewhere. I'm not sure of the price, as I've never had it done. But the office visit fee sounds good. And it is comforting that she has operated on a rat before. Imagine how the very first patient felt?

The price seems right to me but my vet is very experienced.

Gassing to put to sleep is right. If your vet does her research and uses her experience in other surgical procedures in small animals, I'm sure she will get the knack of it.

Definitely insist for glue on the outside. Rats always get their staples out and opens up their incision. I really do think that staples irritate the site.

eta... not "sight" staples has nothing to do with your eyes. :roll: