Rat acting strange after neuter

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bruxxy

Ok I know I've asked alot of neuter realted questions today but I'm a newbie so I want to make sure I know whats going on....

So yea...last Saturday I went to go see the boy who I adopted today however I had to wait a week while he was being neutered....Anyways last weekend I held him and cuddled him and he was really calm and docile...even all the shelter staff said he was a real cuddle bug.

But today when I brought him home after his neuter he seemed very tense and nervous, wouldn't let me pick him up and was basically trying to jump out of my hands while I was checking his balls to make sure everything was still good down there...the vet said I had to check it often for the next day or two just to make sure the incision didn't open up....could he possibly still be in pain from the neuter of is he just stressed from being in a new place.

Also, I noticed that he is scent marking all the things in his cage. Is there any way this could effect the stitches?

He's probably just stressed from the changes/move.
And no, scent marking shouldn't bother with the stitches.
What's good is that he sounds bright and alert.

oh my god! those poor boys! The vet told me they weren't in any pain but stupid me...I should have figured that one out on my own.

Thanks for the info SQ

I was wondering why rats needed pain meds.....we never give any to dogs or cats...unless they need it of course....We give them a soft bed, warm blanket, and some warm food....probably just to baby them and make ourselves feel better but we don't give pain meds....I will have some on hand in case my boys need it but I'm hoping they don't.