ppl in southern NH or any one with advice, finding mover

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petunia

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
I am moving next month and it's become clear that I will not be able to do the move myself in car loads, with just getting a trailer and a few strong guys to move the heaviest stuff (relatives/friends)
I need to hire a mover.
I've never done this before, and I am really scared of getting ripped off, esp over charged by movers who charge by the hour and go slow, or something like that.

I have very little furniture, most of my stuff is just in boxes and some smaller items, a lot of plastic shelves and crap like that. Basically a twin mattress/box spring, two dressers, two desks, one clothes dryer, a table and 4 chairs, and misc household stuff (tv, microwave, etc)

I asked friends for the names of someone they knew/used/trusted but only got one name of a mover I could have afforded- and that mover is no longer in business.
The other mover was way too expensive ($400 flat rate)

I am moving from the 3rd floor (to a first floor) so I know that adds to the cost but I am disabled and on a very low fixed income, and this was an unplanned move, so I am trying to keep the cost as low as possible, you know?

I am pretty flexible on move in date as the landlord has agreed to give me the keys in advance so I can go in and clean (to my standards) and start moving in. Official start date of tenancy is Sept 1st but I hope to be in there at least a week earlier, if not 2 weeks earlier.

Is there anyone who can recommend a good mover in this area? I am only moving less than 5 mins away by car (just under a mile away, I'm pretty sure)