Peach Pregnant?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SterlingRats0408

Hello Fellow Rat Lovers
I have a 1 yr old female named Peach I adopted her and her friend Sterling (18 mo. old male) Who have separate cages but the previous owner put Peach into Sterlings cage several times before she gave them to me. Once being a few days before I got them Sept. 19 2013. Her belly looks very round, has grown quite a bit since I got them. Not sure if pregnant or just that she is being fed better.
Is there anything besides taking her to the vet 1hr away, that I can do to check this?

Do you have a digital kitchen scale you can weigh her on? Tracking her daily weight is a good way to tell. I have no experience with pregnant females, but I think I remember reading that it is dangerous to poke or prod the belly much as it damages the babies inside, if there are babies.

dspch911 said:
The ladies here with experience I'm sure will also like to see pictures.
Of her belly? or if she has babies?
I cannot find my camera, I think my cat took it (as strange as that sounds) He has picked up and moved things as heavy as a pair of my pants to take to his bed to sleep on.
I don't have a small scale, but I may be able to borrow one from work. But if she is I only have a few days left and I have not weighed her since I got her so I have no comparison.
And I knew not to poke her belly. I have tried scouring the internet and it tells you how NOT to test for pregnancy in rats.

SterlingRats0408 said:
dspch911 said:
The ladies here with experience I'm sure will also like to see pictures.
Of her belly? or if she has babies?
I cannot find my camera, I think my cat took it (as strange as that sounds) He has picked up and moved things as heavy as a pair of my pants to take to his bed to sleep on.