Long time arguing - Updated 12/01-12

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MissGuardian

I don´t quite know how to write this..
But Nirvana and Balder still argues.. They have since I got him at 5 ish weeks..
They had a break in between, but they chase eachother pretty much every day.
I do not know who starts it.. It´s no bloodshed, but it´s more than just playing too. Including puffyness and stuff like that.

The vet said neutering could help, would that be true no matter who starts? Both of them gets along just fine with Stefan.
I know it´s probably not as bad since nobody bleeds, but it´s very unsettling for me, and I have no experience what so ever with this.
Splitting them is not an option, unless I´d rehome Balder and I´d strongly prefer not to do that.. Another rat is not an option, since Balder will be my last own rats(planning on "loaning" a rat to keep him company when the rest is gone). I´m quitting rats after him.

I can afford the neuter(or implant - don´t remember the name of it), but I´d rather not if it´s no necessary(neutering isn´t that common over here).
Or could it get worse if I neuter him? I also have to add that Nirvana has not been around intact males before. I don´t know it that matters?

ETA: Nirvana was alpha. I don´t know who is now.

Update January 12th
The hormone chip seems to have done the trick. They hardly ever argue now, and not nearly to the same extent.
He still sleeps a fair bit alone, but as far as I can tell, he wants it that way. Thank you for any advice!

This is what I thought reading your message - to me, it looks like they keep challenging for alpha position. Unless one of them is around 8 months old and then I would throw hormones into the suspects list...

Are they in a big enough cage?