Help please

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
My rat Maggie has scabs on her back and neck. Shes in a large cage with another younger rat, Cora. Ive seen them play fight but never has either of them drew blood, they are very fond of one another. They have no bugs, fleas or lice, both up to date at vet, and are very healthy. Im worried, the cuts arent bad, I only noticed then from a patch of missing fur. I really need advice. They don't look infected. I gave her a bath with a light shampoo to ease her. Please anything will help.

What sort of help are you looking for? Treating the cuts? Or identifying them? Would you please post some pictures? Even if they are a little blurry it could help.

I'm not an expert, but this sounds very similar to my experience with two of our boys. We began noticing missing patches of hair and small scabbies on their shoulders/necks.

Our vet suggested the scabbies might be seasonal allergies causing them to scratch themselves. In other words, the scabbies/missing hair was self inflicted. Our boys develop very sharp claws that don't seem to wear down from the lava ledges we keep in their cage. In our case the scabs show up during seasonal transitions in the Spring/Fall. The vet suggested that we start trimming their nails regularly.

In addition, if it is allergies the vet can prescribe diphen to help with their itching. Our vet suggested that we avoid bathing the boys as this can dry out their skin causing further itchies.

Lastly, we use a humidifier in the winter because our home tends to become really dry, which might be causing our boys' skin to dry out causing further itching.

I hope this helps, and good luck!