HELP! Mushy poo

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cinderwolf

I've had my girls for a grand total of 6 days and just now I notice a few mushy poos... light brown-ish in colour and really ..mushy.. ( like I picked it up in a paper towel and I could squish it)not like a normal rat poo. I got the sisters from rescue. They were born June 29. I don't know what to do.. Should I take them to the vet? I am sick with worry. I only found a few of these poos.. and a lottt or normal ones.. but the mushy ones were all around the same spot ( near the food). I have fed them banana, green pepper, tomato, cauliflower. corn,, carrots and cucumber. Oh and of course, their rat blocks. And a few treats ( Honey drops from Hagen Living World.

I really need ll the advice I can get.. I'm a newbie to rats. and I'm so worried about my girls. : (

our rats poos will vary if they had more fruits and veggies. I think you get concerned when they have diarrhea for an extended period of time.

Personally with all that fiber and the fact my girls have mushy poos when they're fresh I wouldn't worry. I only worry about diarrhea if it pours, but, I'm a newbie too and I may be applying human logic to rats.

I'll defer to the more experienced around here. :bow:

Thanks guys, I feel a bit better now, but I will still be worried sick. Haha I will keep checking and I will update if I find more or if it lasts for a while...

I wonder if it might have to do with their change in diet too, the stress of moving as well? /thoughts

Thats quite a bit of veggies and fruits for 6 days, and especially if their systems aren't use to getting it in those amounts, their going to get some diarrhea.
I also find some rats are more senstive then others, my boys almost always get a little mushy after having any amounts of baby food or if I give them slightly more veggies then usual.