Hello, new here, but not to ratties. :)

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ohrats27

Hello all. New here. My name's Jenni. My husband and I have been keeping rats together for the past 3 years, separately each a little longer. ;) Decided to finally join a place like this to have folks to talk to about the lovely little ones. I work at an exotic veterinary office as a technician assistant, so i get to see lots of fun little creatures, but nothing more exciting than seeing a loving rattie. :)

We are currently owned by 7 loving ratties - four boys: Wesley, Fievel, Marty, and Remy, and three girls: Shae, Evie, and Fiona; as well as our housemates 12 rats, one we actually got together, so she belongs to the four of us, her name is Sophie.

We sadly lost 4 boys since last week. So we are going through a really rough time right now. We lost our oldest, Stewie, to heart disease, he had been on medication for a while, but it finally got the best of him, we lost him on the 22nd. We lost Rexxie surprisingly out of nowhere this past Tuesday, still don't know what from. This morning we lost Snoopy, who had been in renal failure, and was being treated for that for some time as well. And then this evening we lost Bobo, who was Rexxie's brother. He was perfectly fine up until the night we lost Rexxie, we knew then we were going to lose him too. We have never lost so many rats in such a short period of time, and it's really taking a toll on us. I've been crying my eyes out. Just trying to keep kissing and loving our babies and telling them everything's gonna be ok, they are all so confused.

Anyway. We are not looking to replace our babies we've lost. But we are interested in adopting a couple more boys. We had adopted Rexxie and Bobo from California, they were flown all the way to us, to NY. :) And they were some of the most amazing boys we've ever met.