Heart Murmur- RIP little man :(

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smilez_n_hugs

One of my boys, Cane who is 18 months old and I have since birth was diagnosed with a pretty serious heart murmur this week :(

My vet has been in contact with the University of Guelph vets and has prescribed enalapril and lasix which will hopefully give him a bit longer. So I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience with heart murmurs in rats? Or any suggestions for my vet?

I have no experience nor any helpful info sorry but I am curious, what does the vet think is causing the murmur? a valve problem?
is he in congestive heart failure?

I have heard that some rats in CHF have done very well and had a decent amount of quality time on meds
if that helps any
:hugs:

There is a very high rat of heart problems in rats in the maritimes.
I have had a lot of rats with heart problems ... chf as well as other types of heart issues.
Burrell was 9 months old when he was diagnosed with conjestive heart failure (chf). He lived a good active life for about 8 more months. Aaron died last Dec shortly after he turned 1 year old from a heart attack (I finally got his narcropsy back on Friday).

I don't know about heart mumurs, but
If your rat has a heart problem, then he needs to be on:
1. a beta-blocker such as atenolol (1 mg/454.4 g, twice a day)
2. an ACE inhibitor such as enalapril (0.25 mg/454.4 g, twice a day) or benazepril
3. furosemide, brand name lasix (beginning dose 1 to 2 mg/454.4 g, twice a day)

4. and if you do an xray and the heart is enlarged, then digoxin ( 0.0025 mg/454.4 g, twice a day) is added to the above drugs. An xray is done if the other heart meds are helping so you will know if digoxin needs to be added.