Healthy, older titly girl - now wet sneezes and not herself

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

violet976

Gizmo's not doing so well today. she's a tilty head girl from previous resp. issues before i adopted her, but has been a picture of healh for almost a year now. i've been fighting wet sneezes for a few months (merlin has them too now), but today she isn't herself. she'll eat food off my finger but sneezes a lot while she does. solid food which she always immediately hoards/stashes, she just pushes away. she's walking slowly and carefully instead of her usual running pace so i'm thinking she might be dizzy, and the past few days i almost think i smell something when i put my nose to hers. i'm just about certain of it. have you ever smelled infection in the nose? we've had her on baytril/doxy & zithro/dozy, neither with a great deal of success on those wet sneezes.

hi hon
is there any chance the smell is coming from her ear(s)?

I am sorry I can't help, no experience with tilty rats at all, but I have heard of the ears smelling from an infection
I would guess their nose can too....

???

my suspicion is no. i've sniffed her quite a lot this week (nose/ears/mouth, both sides) and i keep leaning strongest to her nose. it's not "punch in the face" smell, but there is definitely a gunky undertone scent i keep smelling. added to the head shaking of the past few months despite abs, and today's general offness of her... i did wonder that the ear and nose cavity is connected so perhaps the smell is both ear/nose, but the wet sneezes have been a battle of the past months so i have to think that the nasal area is definitely involved here. I've got her back on baytril @ 10mg/kg and just put doxy back in today at 5mg/kg.