Boys Introduction Was a Sucess!!! Last Update 1/8/10

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slapdash

Okay so I have been in the process of introducing two three-4month old male rats, neutered a week ago to my other boy also neutered a couple of months ago and he is nearing 6 months. We have been at it for about two weeks minus about 4 days after their surgery and I think it's going okay but since its my first time I am not so sure. We started in the bathroom for a few days, that was a neutral location for everyone and when there were virtually no fights or anything we went to the couch and they fought on and off but less and less each day. After a couple of days there we brought in some of their toys and hide aways about two or three days ago and Ralphie is showing some terretorial aggression with his favorite wooden house. So I took some pics and video so that hopefully I can get some feedback on if it is going well or not and what the next step is...Thanks

Here are the videos...as you can see when the wood house is around it causes more trouble but when I took it away things improved a lot so this worries me about how terretorial he is going to be when I try to move them in together?

http://img526.imageshack.us/i/122509086n.mp4/

http://img27.imageshack.us/i/122509084.mp4/

http://img14.imageshack.us/i/122509085.mp4/

http://img696.imageshack.us/i/122509090.mp4/

http://img27.imageshack.us/i/122509094.mp4/

Ralphie and Rufus
12-25-09081.jpg

12-25-09072.jpg

12-25-09073.jpg

12-25-09057.jpg

12-25-09065.jpg

Enjoying Some Yogurt
12-25-09060.jpg

They're very cute. Glad to hear that it feels like you're making progress and that the fighting is decreasing with each interaction.

I love Ralphie! There is no aggression at all on his part. He's a happy boy... a little bullying with the house but not much.