$7 remodelling!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sarunia

so i'm a student on a tiiiight budget, but i was hoping to give my rattie-babys a better cage. broke, i decided to purchase some dowel rods, fleece (i was using carefresh... yuck!), and a bit of glue. i managed to make a perch, thanks to hairties and ribbon, and put in some more little things....
i know the cage is a bit small, so don't flame; i'm working on saving up for something bigger but it might take a month or two :gaah: so hopefully this will work until then.
let me know what ya'll think and if you have any other ideas of cheap little things that might enhance the cage.
2591090885_2a0b589e1b_b.jpg

hamster ball tied to the side somewhere. you can often find them in flea markets, yard sales or used discount shops.

another way to make cheap and quick double purpose levels is dollar store dish clothes and towels (you could also use old clothes or bedding-ask around for it and you will be up to your ears in it in no time) and safety pins. you can fold them into pocket hammocks, corner hammocks or stretch tight for easy to clean and bouncy levels. cheap tunnels can be found in PVC pipe. if there is construction going on somewhere handy, hang out there for scraps. make sure you wash the heck out of it but free tube! bait bags are also great fun for them. take some cloth, string and treats. place treats in the middle of the cloth and bunch the cloth around the treats to make a bag. tir the string to the bag to close then tie the other end from the top of the cage. they will have fun trying to get the treats out and something tasty once they do.