worms?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopefloats

Not active.
So now I think my girls have worms. I noticed skittles yesterday had a piece of poo hanging from her butt. So i grabbed it. there was like a string hanging from it. SO now bindi did the same thing today, same type of string.

How did they get them, and How do i get rid of these?

What does your vet give for worms? ours just gave us profender for them. One drop on the girls, due to their weight. Since this is my first time dealing with this i would like some input.

I can honestly say I have no experience with this topic, but is it possible they poo'ed a string or thread from something they were playing with and possibly chewed? I have had one of my chewers do that from time to time.

Catibrie beat me to it. I was going to say, it might not be worms. This happens to my cat a lot, and it's happened to my rats, but it was just hair (my hair actually...I have long hair and might shed more than those with fur....). Unless they're starting to act lethargic or lose weight, I would chalk it up to a hammock fiber or hair.

I had them test it to make sure. It is just beyond me where they got them from....I am now bleaching and washing every thing so make sure it is gone.

That is what I thought with one with skittles but when i seen the one through bindi, it had the grossness of a worm. Skittles is losing weight, so I am positive it is

tapeworms..... It was kinda big, i seen pin worms before, those are small right?

With 11 rats, it could be an epidemic here LOL i have to make sure it does not spread, So i showed up to the local vet here she tested their poo, and weighed them.

hopefloats said:
tapeworms..... It was kinda big, i seen pin worms before, those are small right?