Shelter rat with head tilt

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angieluv

We just got a shelter rat in as a surrender who has head tilt. Now I found out about 2 hrs ago that the kennel operations manager is going to call the on-call vet for the week (this is a small shelter with no vet but town vets rotate by week) and let me bring him in.
I think that the vet that he will be seeing is a young woman who is a surgery whiz with even small animals but I don't think that she has experience with rats (but she is quick study)
I have dealt with her before so I if I offer her some suggestions then I think that she may listen to me.
Problem is is that i am fairly new to rats myself.
So could someone either tell me or point me to on-line material that i can read tonight so that i can klnow what direction to go with this vet in terms of suggestions.
I do know that the treatment is usually a steroid and baytril but i am unsure what this is for. In a rabbit we would be talking a deep inner ear infection but I don't know about rats.
i will describe the rat:
Nothing abnormal at all except a head tilt . no neurological abnormalities; he is energetic, coat looks good ; nothing looks abnormal at all externally. An occasional sneeze but that is it. rat looks like the picture of health except for the tilt.

Treatment for head tilt is early & aggressive treatment with antibiotics such as baytril & clavamox or chloremphenicol; and also a steriod or NSAID to reduce swelling and damange.

What SQ said and here is a link that I & my vet have used: http://ratguide.com/health/auricle_ear/ ... thitis.php