Rat Noob

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanscritters

I just got two rats from the pet store about a week ago. I was told they are both female. They were being sold as feeder rats, or in other words, snake food. But I was told they were friendly so I brought them home, and they are very sweet.

Since they were being sold as feeder rats, males and females were not separated. I am not sure of their age, but one is larger, the other is smaller. But I am guessing they are at least 4-6 months old.

Since they were in with adult males, do you think they could be pregnant? Im a rat noob, this is my first pair, and I dont know how to tell these things lol.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Pictures would be appreciated...

It will definately depend on their age, if they are over 5 weeks old (which I assume they are from your description) there is a good chance they will be preggers. There gestation is around 21 days, so if in 3 weeks there are no babies you are probably in the clear.

Welcome to the forum, there are a lot of great ppl here, I hope you enjoy your stay....

Females of breeding age (anything older than 5 weeks) that were left in with males could very well be pregnant. The chances of that are pretty good, actually.

Sometimes, especially if they're in a stressful situation like a large group in a small feeder rat area, they can end up absorbing the litter... so all hope is not lost for you!

The best way to tell with rats is, besides an obviously growing belly, is a change in nipple size and prominence, and taking their weight daily to note change. Many females go through a marked personality change in the days before birth.