Overcoming shyness! (Need bonding tips)

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spookie.cookie

hey everyone!

i am a newbie :) i have a question regarding bonding process. i have been getting mixed opinions regarding this topic.

my rat is a 3 months old girl. she is very very shy. when i saw her at the shelter, she was hiding from her siblings. she was the one left, so i took her in, but will find her a new friend soon. she has been with me for only 4 days and it has been stressful because of all the travelling and moving around.

she has a very submissive personality. she checks me out when i go close to her cage and smells my hand, but if i attemp to move forward or even the slightest movement, she would back up and run into her hammock! she does not want to come out of her cage at all.

i have been shaping her behaviour to build her confidence outside of the cage. i offer her treats when she does. i also let her explore my hands and give her treats with my hand. i also let her lick baby food off! she does all that and finally got it that my hand is not food. however, she does not come out of her cage and hides in a hammock a lot. i think she kinda trust me because she does smell my hand and face when i am near the cage, but ANY attempt to hold her would result in her freezing or hiding :doh:

she is so shy and scared! i have got some opinions to help with the bonding process which is to let her be around me while i am wearing a hoodie, and if she does not want to leave her cage, i simply pick her up. i don't know if i should try that because she will be sooooooo scared. i want her to trust me too!

any advice would be helpful with dealing a shy rat :)

I have a very timid new ratty girl also. Looks like it will take her a while to come around, but she is getting bolder. She comes out to say hello when someone walks into the room or talks to her.