Hello there

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TaoOfThePaw

Glad to be a part of The Shack :) I am a Trainer & Consultant for Companion animals, mainly Cats, dogs, rats (soon to come), and ferrets. I am just getting my business going, and have a move to deal with shortly.
I've joined for two reasons. One, last weekend I ended up taking in a litter of wild babies. It's a long story, but momma didn't come back for some reason (they usually do :? ) That bummed me out, because that's obviously the best possible outcome for them. However, after a good four to six hours, I couldn't couldn't stand it any longer as they would be hungry, dehydrated, and chilly. It's a good thing its middle of summer or they'd have died quickly. I got to work. There is one left. All in one day the others crashed. It was a very rough day. I've named the survivor Nimh. I know, a cliche, but it IS one of my all time favorite cartoons, and rats are one of my favorite animals.
I've had rats in the past, and I've always adored them, and have anxiously awaited the day when its a good idea to have them again. This is a wee bit premature, and I may not be able to keep Nimh due to circumstances beyond my control. BUt if I can, I will. Currently covering my bases by looking for another close to his age so he isn't alone.
I miss rats, and this weeks experience, watching vids, and reaquainting myself with them, has firmly caught me back up in my wonder, facination, and love of these brilliant little creatures.
I needed a place, upon suggestion of a rattery I'm in contact with, to come and kibitz with other rat lovers. And, need be, find another home for Nimh.
That is my story for now :)
Thank you for being here groupies. :)

Welcome! This is the place to be for support and great advice. We've had a few people raise wild rats.