Hello from Florida!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MelissaG

Hello everyone! I'm new to this whole rat thing, but I have fallen in love with the little sweeties!
We have 7 children - 19 yr old son, 10 yr old son, 9yr old daughter, 7yr old son, 4 yr old daughter and 3 yr old twin boys. About 6 months ago our (then) 8 yr old decided that she wanted a rat. So she started working on her Dad, I'm easy I love animals. Oh yeah, we also have a chihuahua and a cat, plus two feral, altered cats that stay outside. Anyway, Callie worked really hard on her Dad. She wrote songs, drew pictures, we got a rat cookie cutter and made him cookies. If anyone deserved a rat it was her. Finally her Dad gave in and now we have three beautiful little boys - a hairless named Harry, a blue named George and a black and white Dumbo named Cutie. I love the little guys and I can definetly see this being an addiction!! Fortunately, I bought the double FN. I would have been so jealous of y'alls cages if I had gotten the one we first looked at. I LOVE our cage.
I am really enjoying this site and I am so glad I found y'all. I've learned so much already. I want to be a good mom to the little guys and I know I can come to y'all with questions.
Sorry this is so long - I tend to ramble on alot!
Thanks for listening - I think my family is already getting tired of all my 'rat talk'!
Melissa :D

Holy Mackerel! How could you help but to be a good rattie-mom with all the practice you have with other species? 7 human kids even!!! Kudos to Callie for recognizing the specialness of ratties!
You ought to have a few words with mamarat, her daughters brought her to ratties too. And her hubby Morats, I don't think their daughters used songs & pictures, I think they just dumped the ratties on them and let the ratties speak for themselves :laugh4:
Oh, Welcome to Rat-love & the Rat Shack!!!