Details about cleaning wax from a ratty's delicate ears?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Godmother

I have never done this before, but it's getting to be time for my senior girls. Their ears still look very pink and clean, so perhaps they are grooming each other, but I think I saw some wax in Penny's ear tonight. They are really having trouble using their back legs, although they make heroic efforts to maintain grooming. They somehow keep their fur in pristine condition, and their tails are cleaner than ever.

I have read that it's OK to clean the ears with a Q-tip, but I am terrified of hurting her or doing damage after all the stuff that doctors say about people cleaning their ears with Q-tips.

Should I put warm water on the Q-tip first? Warm olive oil? How deep should I insert the Q-tip?

The best thing to use is that long thin tool with a tiny scoop at the end... used by vets. Where to get them? I have no idea and really do wish I had one. But since I don't, I don't clean their ears.
My vet has told me that you don't want anything liquid in their ear, so I won't recommend putting anything wet in their ear. A couple of times Nic and I have attempted to clean out a rat's ear, which seemed to turn out to cause or be a symptom of or just a coincidence to the ear bleeding or finding a growth in the ear.
I'm not much help am I? If rats could sit still and cooperate it would make the task much easier. If you do find a method that works and makes the rat feel better, please pass it on!