Death. Neuter.

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RKbusy

Sorry if I am not very coherent in this post, but I just got back for a long day.

I brought Petri and Skemo in for surgeries today. Petri is 2 years 3 months and needed a tumor removed from her chest. That seems to have gone fine so far (at least she's still breathing, is response, but is very lethargic).

Skemo died. He was in for a neuter.

This was done by Dr. Mobarak at Bank Street Animal Hospital. The same place/same vet I've been using since 2009. He's done so many neuters for me I can barely remember. Spook, Marley, Monkey, Sketch, Goliath, Splinter, Billy, Edgar, Mousse, etc etc. And I never had any issue with ANY of them.

He asked me to take Skemo back as soon as I found his laying unresponsive. Dr. Mobarak gave him CPR + Oxygen plus 2 shots. I was into the chest area of only 0.025ml of something clear. THe other was a 0.7 ml of something clear, but that was more in the abdomen. Obviously, this didn't work, because he's dead.

THen, judging by the "pooling" of blood near the neuter site and the fact that they was blood just dripping out from the stitches after all the vigorous CPR, he says, "I'm sorry, but there is an issue with clotting. THis rat is not clotting." THis was about 3.5 hours after the surgery had been initially done.

I'm sorry, but I'm not sure I've EVER heard of this. Skemo was perfectly healthy. And evidenced by the fact that he's missing about an inch of his tail (was like that when I took him in), he obviously CAN heal.

The thing is, when I was getting ready to wrap Skemo into his fleece (I do this with every rat that passes away), I tilted him up a bit and blood just leaked RIGHT out of him and all over my arm. This just doesn't seem normal to me.