could this be an abscess?EDIT was an abscess popped!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilangel

tinkerbell got this bump on her tummy lower tummy beside her back leg and now it looks red and bruised if it is an abscess what should i do? here some pictures but a bit blurry as it was me holding her and taking the pictures at same time.

101_9721.jpg

101_9724.jpg

101_9725.jpg

101_9727.jpg

i will try and get some better picture's when i can get someone to take them for me(bf not home at this time)

Ouch, that looks painful. I don't know much about abscesses, but it certainly looks like one to me. Is there a difference between an abscess and a boil? Anyway, a warm compress might help it come to a head. Poor sweetie.

yes it does look ouchie :( a warm compress meaning i should use like a warm cloth on it? sorry i have never done this before and very new to this stuff.

also its like scabbing kind of but when it first appeared there it did not seem to have come from a bite or scratch it was just a tiny bump and i just watched it to be sure and now its like that.

That looks like an abscess to me too. Use a cloth, dip in very warm water, ring it out and place on the mass. Hold it there for a few seconds and repeat. I bet that thing will pop in no time. Once it's open, keep flushing it with saline/water, keep doing this until it heals from the outside in.

from what i've gathered from this website, if it has a scab on it then it is more than likely an abscess. To me, it looks like its about to burst :? Mix up some salt and boiling water, stir the water till the salt disolves. wait for it to cool so that its warm if you put it on the back of your hand and then soak a cloth in the solution and hold it over. HOPEFULLY you will get some gunk out before it bursts all over.