Chewing

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meheavil

I have 3 rats that I have gotten all within the past year. This is my first rat experience and so I am still learning. After lots of trial and error I found that it is best for my allergies as well as theirs to line their cage with fleece. These girl have PLENTY to chew, wooden blocks, toys, etc. However, they still chew the edges of their pan liner to go underneath the fleece. This is a very expensive habit! I have to keep replacing the liners and do a complete pan cleaning every 3 days because of the urine etc. They are litter trained, but only number 2. My girls have plenty of additional snuggle materials with hammocks, sleeping bags, and old scraps of cotton and fleece to tear up and make nests. I am wondering if there is anything that I can put on the corners of their cage liners to keep them from destroying them so quickly? I obviously don't want anything hazardous to their health but I cannot afford to keep replacing these liners so often! I love my girls but nothing irritates me more than spending a lot of time/money to make their cage nice and give them plenty to chew/snuggle and then watching them immediately chew the ONLY THING I do not want them to chew. Any suggestions help!!! I was thinking along the lines of something that tastes or smells bad to them, but will not hurt them at all.

it used to drive me crazy, too. they even went under the fleece and messed it right up, tipped all the toys, etc, but i've learned that it makes them happy, so i just don't care anymore. but you could always try putting the smaller red bricks in. they also help with nails! my rats chew the base pans and everything. they just like to chew.