Can i feed my hamster with my rats mix?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maria-mar

Hi there :D
I recently got three dwarf russian hamsters, they're suppose to be two Campbells and one Winter White but they may as well be all hybrids as i got them in a pet store.
I also have two rats. I feed them with my own home made mix, made from several rodents mixes put together, and i add seeds like wheat and oats, dry pasta, nuts and dog food.

So my question is: can i feed my hamsters with my rats mix?
I would obviously remove the dog food for them, but i don't see any other reason why i shouldn't, as it seems more rich in nutrients than some hamster standard mixes that i've seen, which are basically made of sunflower seeds.
But i'm not a hamster expert, so i need your advice ^_^

I don't know what hamsters eat but if your mix is comprised of "rodent" mixes then I would assume it's ok? A lot of food here formulated for hamsters are quite acceptable for rats as well.

That's what i though, but i want to make sure...
I've found that all those mixes were always poor in some sort of seeds, but brought together (and with some aditions) they could work as something balanced. They have everything that a hamster mix has, only a little bit more variety. But i don't know if that's good or bad for them :/

I did researched on hamster sites, but found nothing about it... the thing is, on hamster foruns people know little about rats, so they can't answer as well... i thought maybe someone here also kept rats and hamsters, and may have dealed with the same question ^_^