Am I a bad rat mom?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bruxxy

As I'm sure most of you know...I love my ratties very much but lately I have been really of worried about vet bills. In the last year I have spent more money on vet bills than I ever have in 7 years of owning rats. Thats mostly due to the fact that I didn't take my rats to the vet when I was younger(I didn't know better at the time)....and then the last 4 years I was blessed with extremely healthy ratties who never had problems.

But now I'm realizing the reality of responsible pet care and how expensive rats can be. I'm alright with paying for vet bills that aren't outragously expensive but what about the vet bills that end up leaving you pennyless? I'm talking about $400+. I'm a student with a crappy job and sometimes I only make $650 a month.

I just can't really afford that and its really bothering me that there will probably come a time when I will have to choose between paying for rent and food...or paying for vet bills.

I'm sure most of deal with this problem....especially those of you who have 10 or more ratties. How do you deal with it? Has there ever been times when you simply couldn't afford the vet bills? What did you do about it?

Would I be a bad rat mom if I said NO to one of my babies? I know just thinking of it makes my heart ache. :cry4:

bruxxy, I think you know the answer to that already. When a rat is sick, it's the owner's responsibility to take that rat to a vet. In the last 3 months, I've spent over $3000 in vet bills. But for now, I can afford it. If I'm ever in a position where I can't afford vet bills, that will be the day I no longer take in rats.

oh I guess I forgot to mention that... I'm talking more about surguries than anything else. Meds and check ups are never that expensive.

jorats said: