'nother new guy

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve T

I'm new to keeping rats - I sort of backed into the whole thing accidentally. These days I consider myself a old crazy cat dude, as it seems every cat in the neighborhood comes to my patio to eat, not to mention the five I've rescued that presently live as inside only cats.

Now, like I said, I sort of backed into the rat keeping thing. One night I noticed a couple of my cats were very interested in something on the patio. When I checked I saw that someone's pet rat was munching on the cat food I put on the patio for the neighborhood cats. I went out and tried to catch it, but it was very shy and scurried under the fence into the alley. None of the neighbors claimed to have lost their rat, so I started trying to catch it while looking for a home for it. It took over a week, but eventually I enticed it into a pet carrier with food and bought it inside. I figure it was very lucky to have survived outside as long as it did, especially since it was sharing the cat food bowl with all the cats in the neighborhood. 'Course the cats around here don't know anything about hunting, unless it comes from a can or bag they don't consider it food anyway.