Waiting for Virus' pregnancy quarantine to end so we know!!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Virus'n'Plague

Hi folks.
I'm new to the Rat Shack but a lot of the comforting and useful tips I find always lead back to you amazing people!! So I joined and figured I would add my voice!

I recently decided to add some females to my little rattie friends. My 4 boys have their own hutch are growing rapidly and playfully. Some are learning a few tricks and so far two are successfully litter trained. It's been such a thrill that I decided to add some females to a hutch of their own. However since then have come to learn how common purchased pet shop females are (my males were selected from feeders as kind of a rescue mission and every day they make me glad I did!) So I immediately placed my females (purchased at 7 weeks old) in a more easily monitored bin cage.
Virus not only sky rocketed ahead of Zombie and Plague size wise, but gained a belly to match.
Now I'm aware that young rats will gain a pot belly when improving from the pet store diet, but as of the last 2 days, shes mostly slept and started isolating herself from Zombie and Plague. Zombie and Plague are still the same size to each other and Virus (who started the same size) just looks like a healthy giant now to them lol. So I've moved the other two to their own temporary cage complete with a fun tube maze while they still fit comfortably....
Usually shes VERY affectionate and cradles my fingers and licks my hands and comes to her name already ..... but about 36 hours ago, Virus' nesting started and she wants nothing to do with me, not even for some scrambled eggs or low fat wet cat food or her berries and oats soaked in soy milk. The nesting is in waves though. Sometimes she seems frantic about it, sometimes she doesnt seem to care and just buried herself a crater in the bedding.