Two Sick Rat + castration

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

ChaoticEva

Hello!

I am quite new to the pet rat world and I have a few questions about recovery and diet. So Friday we went to the vet as both Darwin and Deku were not eating or drinking, not to mention the weird respiratory sounds they were making. They were diagnosed with respiratory disease (which I know is quite common) and now they're on 2 antibiotic, an anti-inflammatory and probiotics for a month. The vet suggested giving them whatever they wanted to eat, but most importantly, some baby cereal and baby food. So, I'm now fully equipped with the goods and they're doing quite a bit better today. They're eating the baby food and are enjoying it. Here is my main question ; how long should they be eating the baby food? Keep in mind that we rescued the boys a month ago from a hoarding situation and the first vet we saw didn't catch the respiratory issues. I'm glad I decided to try a different vet (who was absolutely A.M.A.Z.I.N.G) and actually go with my gut that was telling me that they weren't doing well.

I also have a question regarding castration. We got both the boys castrated on Wednesday. So how long does it take for the swelling to go down, down there? The vet we saw on Friday said it was normal, but I'm wondering until when is it normal? Like how many days?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 46351720_10161071776280524_3549902126408794112_n.jpg
    46351720_10161071776280524_3549902126408794112_n.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 113
Hi! Your boys look very sweet :)

I am so glad that you found a good vet. A good vet with the experience and knowledge to treat rats is absolutely essential! :)