splitting a cage in half for different genders?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
W

WiildSunflowers

hello everyone! quick question that i'm pretty sure i know the answer too, but i want to be extra safe before i do anything, since i'm relatively new to owning rats still.

i have a feisty ferret cage (wrapped entirely in hardware cloth), and the two floors are connected via a hole in the floor that has a removable wire piece that clips into place, this is important later. i have 2 boys myself, who currently have run of the entire cage, although i've yet to actually see them explore the bottom half (they're only 1 month old, and have only been home a few days)

my friend knows a guy who has a single female rat, around 1 year old (big yikes) that he apparently just doesn't want anymore, and i was informed he planned on setting it free in his downtown city (the capital of my state, no less) which is why she contacted me. she comes with a cage, but from the pictures i've seen it looks much too small for a rat to live in period.

i know i cannot house these rats together, as it would quickly lead to an unwanted pregnancy, i'm sure! i was curious if i put this divider in place, if the three rats could be successfully separated from each other while i find a new home for this gal, where she won't be released into the wild.

i've been told this rat doesn't show any signs of illness also, but i don't exactly have the pocket change to run a random rat off to the vet. i'm assuming it would be best for me to keep her separated from their cage entirely for a day or two and see if she shows any signs of illness (sneezing and coughing) before popping her in the new cage, if it's even truly safe for her to be in there.