Pea-Sized Lump

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jherek

I have somehow, up to this point, be lucky enough to never dealt with tumours/cysts. But I just took my one boy Oliver out and noticed a pea-sized lump on his back on the hind end near the leg. It doesn't seem to be fixed, it moves under the skin. I have no experience with tumours and cysts at all and have no idea of this is something to even worry about or not. Should he be going straight to the vet on Monday or should I watch to see if it changes for a few days? :(

Edit - ok from what I can find, it sounds like it's just a cyst? Is it painful for them? And should they be drained/removed immediately, or only if gets worse?

Okies :)

start off with warm (almost hot) damp compresses on the lump twice a day if possible. If its low on his hip maybe you can do a sitz bath instead? Works faster then compressing in my opinion. Its the warmth and damp that brings it to a head.

Beni getting soaked for his neuter abscess
Beni-dowereallyhaveto.jpg

once it bursts you will have to start getting the matter out by gently squeezing at the base, then flushing it out with a solution (I use isotonic saline solution I make up). Then you have to keep the abscess cavity open and clean, flushing twice a day if possible, softening any scab that forms...you need an abscess to heal from the inside out, so never use healing ointments on it or let it scab over right away. A bit of that pus or nasty stuff could be healed over and then the abscess would recur. Keep flushing until its healing up to the surface. :)

Oh thank god.. that's better than I was expexting haha. :p Ok, I'll start that right now. Thanks so much for your help. Like I said, I've been so lucky in this regard and since this is the first time, I was panicky. Har har.