New Veteran

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

limpwristed

Hi! My name is Erik, and I'm a proud rat dad from Independence, Missouri (sidenote: I'm looking to connect with ratty people in my city and state). I'm new to getting back into this forum and back into loving rats, but I've raised 40+ at this point, and helped raise many many more. Rats have inspired me to get into working with shelters, and that's my 2 year career plan at this point.

A couple things about me: I'm transgender, I'm a huge book nerd, and I've loved animals since I was a kid. I enjoy coming home from work to play with my boys and girls and curl up with a good book. My favorite genres are vampires, fantasy, and political non-fiction.

A couple things about my rats: My boys were purchased October 2nd, 2019 and I believe they were six weeks old at the time. Since then they've shot up like little arrows. They're so long and thick now. ^_^ Their names are Saffron and Florian; my little fancy boys. Saffron is all white and Florian is a black hooded. I know they're common, but I've always been a fan of the common coats. At one point in time I owned 7 white rats and 3 hooded at the same time.

My girls are a different situation. Selma is a year old and she was purchased with her recently deceased sister Griselda (one of my best girls, to note) as a present to myself for being a good rat dad. ^_^ My other two girls are Ambrosia and Mirabelle, purchased very recently. So recently in fact, they're still skittish and won't venture from my hoodie at all during playtime. I got lucky, though, they're definitely not scared of me. :)

Well, this has been about me and my rats, so when I'm at home and not at my work computer I'll upload some photos of them in the comments. Thanks for reading, and I hope to get to know everyone here!