New rat owner, should I get a third?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wednesday

Hello! First-time rat owner here. I've had cats, dogs, fish, and guinea pigs, but this is my first time with rats. We got 2 boys that were labeled as 6-8 weeks old when we got them. So, now they are approximately 12 weeks old. We got one rex and one hairless (not for their appearance or fur, but just because they were the ones that were calmest when being held).

While I did research rat care before I got them, I did not think to research hairless rats individually and have since learned that they have shorter lifespans. He is not completely hairless. You can see a little bit of fuzz on his cheeks and legs, as well as a very light covering on most of his body (hopefully you can see on the picture).

So, my question is, since he could potentially only live for one year while the other lives twice as long (hopefully longer for both!), should I get another rat now so that they are used to each other? My concerns are:

1. Will the new one get picked on since he will likely be a little younger and smaller?
2. Will the new one pick on the hairless one since he is different?
3. If I leave the population at our current 2 rats, will it be harder or easier to introduce a new rat to the remaining one after the hairless one crosses the rainbow bridge?