Need some real advice please

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VonVicious

Hello. I recently rescued a young adult rat I name Loki from a school class pet. He was alone his whole life. I am new to rats. He quickly because super awesome and I decided to get him cagemates. The babies Ruckus And Rebel Loved him,they all loved each other. Not even a month after Loki suddenly got I'll. He seemed to have some sort of mite or lice on him and I haven't been able to determine what. I used revolution on them two days prior. We had a very hot day and that seemed to have spiked something. His eyes and nose were bleeding!. Bleeding! It was terrifying horrible. I bathed Loki with some dawn and held him close the whole time. I blotted gently his eyes and nose. He seemed grateful for it. I seen some kind of bug in his eye. I never slept and stayed with as much as possible I did damage control in the house. My friend brought me some food grade diatomaceous earth to use in my house and Loki was separated from the babies at the time. While my friend was here Loki wanted me, he was very attached to me. He climbed into my arms and I carried him around for a lil while. I put him back and Vacuumed like a maniac for two hours. I went back to check on him and he was gone. In the spot I placed him in exactly. I'm devastated. He climbed into my arms to die. I should have never put him down. I feel beyond horrible about it. This happened so fast. He was only 8 months old. I'm angry and sad. But terrified for these babies who do not trust me. They knew something was wrong with him and stayed away before I had removed him from the big cage. I removed the babies from the big cage so I can one clean it and check for any bugs and two keep a closer eye on the babies in a small cage. They are so scared now and depressed. They aren't playing they are now at least eating and moving