Nails falling off, please help!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtideman

I am new to having rats but have done extensive research, particularly on their diet and habitat. I play with them often and closely monitor their food, and their tank is cleaned weekly. My two girls are playful and sweet, as always, but I'm getting worried.

A week or so ago I noticed some of Bindy's nails were turning black. I was concerned and kept an eye on them and planned to call a vet if they got worse.
Well, last night I noticed most of the black nails were falling off. I am panicking! She is acting fine, though, which is a little reassuring. I've heard this isn't too uncommon if they get infections, but I have no idea what might have caused it.

I'm planning a vet trip soon (I am between paychecks at the moment), regardless of whether or not the nails grow back fine. They need a checkup anyway. But does anyone have any tips to help her, or ideas of what I may have overlooked for this to happen? Should I let them fall off or try to remove them? I don't want to hurt her :(

Edit: I just took them out to check on them and now Lilo's nails are looking dark, too. Hers looks like dried blood around her nails, though. What is happening?! Both of them are acting normal still, so I think they're mostly ok, but this still is making me worried...

I have never heard of this, but it help help other answer you questions if you answer these:
1) how old are they?
2) what is their diet?

Also tanks are not good homes for rats, it is not ventilated enough for their sensitive lungs. They need a multi level cage, (exp, critter nation, My First Home Deluxe Large Multi-Level Ferret Cage, Feisty Ferret Cage etc), with many hammocks and toys to play with.

Hopefully someone who has more experience will answer you.