My boy’s being a menace

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blaze

So I have just one rat, a little albino I saved. He doesn't know how to drink from a water bottle because he had a bad leg injury, so he has two water dishes. And I cannot make him stop putting food and bedding in his water bowls. I’m a full time student so I’m not able to spend much time with him during the day, but I do take him out for about an hour each night too give him some exercise and love. But he’s still being crazy and I have to dump his waters every morning and change his bedding because it’s wet. Is there anything I can do to try and get him to stop other than using a water bottle?

Can you lower the water bottles on the cage so your rat doesn't have to stand on his back legs much in order to drink? Or try a bird water bottle like this.

What kind of bottle do you have currently? The kind with a sipper tube and the ball valve? If that's what you have, have you checked to make sure that they work? Maybe they don't and that's why your rat is not able to use them. Give the sipper tube a good cleaning and make sure the ball valve freely moves in the tube when you shake it. Don't overfill the bottle or it will become air locked and no water will come out even if the ball valve works.

He has two little dishes just on the floor of his cage, he’s in a glass cage so I can’t attach anything on the side

He has two little dishes just on the floor of his cage, he’s in a glass cage so I can’t attach anything on the side