Money

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oasisandbambi

Hey yall! Just wondering how much money should you usually have saved up for your ratties in case of an emergency. Ive got 3 girls and am getting a new boy. Im a student with a part time job and I think what I should be be able to save up will be 400, maybe 500. Is that enough?

It depends on their age and if they are or if you’re planning on getting them spayed or neutered. Older rats will cost more because of tumours and things like that, especially if they weren’t spayed or neutered young.
I think I recall that you had younger rats, so that amount should be fine to have at a time while they’re young. You’re already dealing with respiratory issues, so you know how much they cost. As they get older, it will be good to have around $400 saved at a time for tumour removals, but that’s assuming that it would cost you $200 each time and your girls both get tumours at the same time.

It depends on their age and if they are or if you’re planning on getting them spayed or neutered. Older rats will cost more because of tumours and things like that, especially if they weren’t spayed or neutered young.
I think I recall that you had younger rats, so that amount should be fine to have at a time while they’re young. You’re already dealing with respiratory issues, so you know how much they cost. As they get older, it will be good to have around $400 saved at a time for tumour removals, but that’s assuming that it would cost you $200 each time and your girls both get tumours at the same time.