Lone rat

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoBa

Hello,
Today, I had to put my rat to sleep because he had a cancerous tumour and it was only going to get worse. I am devastated but I know it was the right thing to do. Now I have one rat who is by himself and as a student, I can not spend 12 hours each day with him. I have searched for rats up for adoption near me, but there are very few and a lot of them include a cage as well and I've already got a cage. I am undecided on baby rats since I am not sure whether I can cope with their fast metabolisms and thought that there are rats needing a home more. I have heard of fostering but I doubt there are rats around that need foster homes and I don't know how this works. Do you have the rats until they find a home? How soon should I find Bodger a friend-or what's the longest amount of time? If I can wait a few weeks, rats for adoption might come up. Does anyone have suggestions on what I could do? I would appreciate any advice. Thank you.

With regards to fostering, that is something you would need to discus with the rescue or shelter or person.

When you get another rat, you will need a second cage for a short time because intros are gradual and take time
(See https://www.ratshackforum.com/threads/introducing-new-rats.34842/#post-491257 and joinrats.com)

as for your boy, you will need to spend as much time as possible with him until you can get him a friend or two. A small stuffed animal to snuggle with may help but it can not have any small parts or stuffing tha could harm him if swallowed because he will chew it

I am very sorry for your loss {hugs}

Thank you. Is it possible to introduce a baby rat and 1.5 year old rat? Or does that make complications?