It’s been too long since I’ve had babies

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KaitlynnR

I’ve been rescuing older rats for a few years now and I decided that for Valentine’s Day I wanted a pair of little girls. I got more than a pair as the spouse brought home 4 babies (all 4 were colours that I love so I guess there was no leaving them behind haha). All 4 are super active, eating, drinking and playing. One is a little small but she’s the runt so I’ll have to make sure she’s getting something extra.

The biggest problem is that the little blue girl is sneezing A LOT. No wheezing and she’s not acting sick. I wouldn’t be worried normally with new rats as they usually sneeze when you bring them home, but she sneezes so hard she wakes herself up. She’ll be passed out hard and then basically spasm with sneezes and wake her siblings up. It’s very dramatic. Does that sound normal for new home sneezes?

No one else is sneezing like that. Every once in a while there’s a sneeze here and there but nothing like the one girl.

It’s been too long since I’ve had babies.

All advice is appreciated :)

Yep... I'd be worried too if she sneezes while sleeping like that. Normally, new home sneezes is due to over sniffing. I would probably have her checked by a vet and make sure you tell him your observations. He may not hear anything wrong with her but he should make an assessment based on you tell him about the sneezes and how strong they are.

Yep... I'd be worried too if she sneezes while sleeping like that. Normally, new home sneezes is due to over sniffing. I would probably have her checked by a vet and make sure you tell him your observations. He may not hear anything wrong with her but he should make an assessment based on you tell him about the sneezes and how strong they are.