Intros

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jorats

Loving rats since 2002.
REVISION!
I have been loving rats since 2002 and have had the pleasure to know over 300 rats who have come through our doors here with either myself or my close family.
I have done countless intros with all kinds of different rats from different backgrounds. All our rats are rescues and some have come from neglect or abuse. But luckily, rats live in the moment not the past and not the future.
When doing intros, you have to be patient and respectful of each rat. I no longer flip them because I am not meant to be their alpha as I am human. But I can parent them gently but firmly. We do not tolerate any biting. When a rat bites, either humans or rats, they will get neutered. Neutering helps all rats overcome their strong emotions ruled by hormones and stress.

Intros are one of the most asked question. So I thought we could all post our experiences. I've done tons of intros and here's what works for me:

When I do intros and it's with already stressed out rats, then I try a neutral place that could seem scary to all rats. A place that has new smells and sounds, somewhere they've never been before.
For me that would be the tub.
The thing I've noticed with rats is that even though intros might have went bad in the past, it's still not the end of it. You may need to step back and try again a month later. The important thing, have food available to distract them. No toys, no boxes, just a plate of food like pablum or yogurt, something that will force them to be beside each other to eat.